Prescription for Change A new direction for healthcare...

UPDATED: Health insurance refunds by state

New rules created by the Affordable Care Act require health insurers to spend on average at least 80% of premiums on actual medical care instead of overhead and profits. Miss the mark and insurers have to refund customers.

Data released by insurers helped us determine which insurance companies may owe rebates in your state. Rebates will vary in size, but for the first time ever, insurers are actually giving you money back, and anything helps!

Rebates depend on how you get your coverage: whether you buy it on your own or for your family, get it through a small business (50 or fewer employees), or through a large employer with more than 50 employees. Public programs like Medicare and Medicaid spend relatively little on administrative costs and are not included in the refund rule. Medicare Advantage and Medicare supplemental policies have to abide by separate standards but do not owe rebates to customers at this time.

Rebate amounts and rebating insurers are based off of data provided by the U.S. Health & Human Services Department. Refunds are due by August 1. Have questions? Check out our Q & A blog on the refunds.

Roll over your state to see the total amount of expected rebates. Click here to see which insurance companies in your state are expecting to owe rebates.

Did you get a refund or a discount on your premiums? We want to hear from you. Submit your story

United States Map Wyoming Wisconsin West Virginia Washington Virginia Vermont Vermont Utah Texas Tennessee South Dakota South Carolina Rhode Island Rhode Island Pennsylvania Oregon Oklahoma Ohio North Dakota North Carolina New York New Mexico New Jersey New Jersey New Hampshire New Hampshire Nevada Nebraska Montana Missouri Mississippi Minnesota Michigan Michigan Massachusetts Massachusetts Maryland Maryland Maine Louisiana Kentucky Kansas Iowa Indiana Illinois Idaho Hawaii Georgia Florida District of Columbia Delaware Delaware Connecticut Connecticut Colorado California Arkansas Arizona Alaska Alabama